1. Help Center
  2. Study Configuration and Form Building

Host Level Role Manager

Using the Role Manager Page to Create Custom Roles

The Role Manager page, found under the Website Host menu, is used to create custom roles for access to functions at the Website Host level. In other words, these will be the roles that users can be assigned when they are added to the hosting account.

Most accounts only require two roles at this level, which are already set up on new host accounts: Administrator and No Access. Most users added to a host will be given the No Access role at the Website Host level because most users will only need study-level access.

This is ONLY for account-level rights and is not related to study roles.  Normally, this will be used and will only contain two roles: Administrator or No Access.

To modify available roles at the website host level, access the Role Manager shown below:

2022-10-10_19-23-52-1The Role Manager page allows an Administrative user to:

  1. Add New Roles

  2. Edit Existing Roles

  3. Delete Existing Roles

  4. The page also has a link that navigates directly to the Rights Manager page where specific host-level permissions can be assigned to corresponding roles.

Current Roles Data Table 

The following explains what each column means in the Current Roles table.

Role Description

The Role Description is a text field that is used to identify the role. Throughout the system, roles are referred to by their Role Description.

Role Hierarchy

The Role Hierarchy is a numeric field that has great importance. Each role operates within a hierarchy. There are a number of reasons for this. The most important reason is so a relationship can be established between roles. When in the Role Manager, you can add, edit, and delete roles that have a hierarchy equal to or less than your role’s hierarchy.

Form Rights Link

The Form Rights link opens a Form Rights popup window that contains all forms for the Website Host level.  In the Form Rights popup window access rights to forms can be assigned. There are two types of form access rights: View Form and Insert/Update Form.

Clicking the Form Rights link in the Current Roles table displays a popup window for the corresponding role as shown in the figure below.

2022-10-10_19-28-09

Each form that has been defined at the Website Host level will be displayed in this window. Here, rights for each form can be assigned for the selected role.

NOTE: Be sure to click the Save Form Rights button to apply any changes made.

View Form Rights

This gives the selected role the ability to view the form.

Insert Update Form Rights

This gives the selected role the ability to insert and update the form. If this right is not granted, when a user that has been assigned the given role goes into the form, the form will display the read-only message.

Field Blinding Link

Fields can be blinded in any form that is created at the Website Host level. Field Blinding enables you to define hidden fields within your forms for certain user roles.

When the Field Blinding link is selected from the Current Roles data table, the Blind Fields by User Role page is displayed as shown in the following figure.

2022-10-10_19-31-20From this page, using the Select Form to Blind Fields dropdown the desired form from the Website Host level can be selected.

  1. Once a form is selected from the dropdown list
  2. The Fields, Check to Blind section is populated with the fields that can be blinded within that form for the selected user role. Simply check the boxes next to the fields to be blinded. Any field that you select by checking the corresponding checkbox, will be blinded from that user role.
  3. When you have selected the fields to be blinded for a particular form, be sure to click the Save Field Blinding button to apply the selections.
  4. As a reminder, the role for which fields are being blinded is displayed in the Right Column.
  5. To return to the Role Manager, click the Return to Define Roles link located in the Right Column.
  6. Go to Blinded Fields Audit Report by clicking this link.

Edit Control

The Edit control allows the user to edit the Role Description and Role Hierarchy settings for the corresponding role. When the Edit control is clicked the fields can be edited. Note when the Edit control is clicked the controls change to Update Cancel. When editing is complete, simply click the Update control to apply the changes or click the Cancel control to leave the selections unchanged.

Delete Control

The Delete control allows the user to delete a role from the Current Roles data table. Clicking the Delete control opens the Confirm Delete Role popup window. The selected role appears in the popup window. To delete the role, click the Confirm Delete button. This will remove the role from the Current Roles data table.  Once you delete them, there is no reinstating them.  You must create them from scratch again.

Note: The system will not allow you to delete a role that is currently assigned to an active user.

ADMIN and NO ACCESS are reserved system roles and cannot be deleted.